top of page

High Heels


I like wearing high heels. I will build an entire outfit off of a pair of shoes.

However, I never get to wear most of my outfits because I go to a school where the uniform is basically capri leggings, and Birkenstocks.

For someone (like me) who has built up a wardrobe that is a mix of Kate Middleton, Spencer Hastings, and Blaire Waldorf, that means most of my cuter clothes go unworn. Granted, I probably could wear them whenever I want to but there is a part of me that doesn't want to stand out too much. Recently though, I decided that I don't care.

So what I wear shoes to school that make me four inches taller. I can wear tailored coats, dress pants, blazers, and preppy skirts if I want.

No, I don't care that wearing four inch heels makes me taller and more formally dressed than 80% of my fellow students.

If I want to wear heeled sandals with jeans and a cute top, I should be allowed to do so. If me being tall and nicely dressed makes you uncomfortable, start dressing nicer or wear heels more often.

Just becuase we live at the coast, doesn't mean that we always have to wear ill fitting jeans, crop tops, no bra, and Birkenstocks. If that is your style than more power to you, but mine is different, and I take pride in that fact.

We might not go to a fancy, expensive high school, but that shouldn't be stopping me, or anyone else, from wearing what we actually want to wear.

So, starting after spring break, out come the summery heels, bright colored flats, cardigans, tailored coats, and preppy skirts and dresses. You've been warned.

-Lauren Hansen


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page