top of page

Why I Wear Make-Up

I will be the first to admit that I wear a lot of makeup.

My makeup routine is usually:

-Moisturizer

My moisturizer of choice is the Cetaphil Oil Control Moisturizer with sunscreen in it. I tend to have oily skin, and I love the fact that this helps to balance my face out.

-Liquid concealer

I like the E.L.F. liquid concealer. It comes in a little tube and has a brush for easy application. I wear the shade "light beige", and the concealer is only $2 at most drug stores.

-Stick concealer

Again, I like E.L.F concealer. It comes in a stick (kinda like lipstick), and lasts for forever. It is fairly cheap as well, and is $5 at drug stores. Again, I wear "light beige".

-Liquid foundation

My favorite foundation is the tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour full coverage foundation with sunscreen in "light beige". It is a little more pricey at $39, but I absolutely love it. It helps to balance out the parts of my face that are oily, and the parts that are too dry. It can be found at either Ulta or Sephora's.

-Finishing powder

I wear the "light beige" tarte smooth operator Amazonian clay tinted pressed finishing powder. It costs $34, and can be found at either Ulta and Sephora's.

-Blush

I tend to just wear generic blush. As long as I like the shade, I don't actually care what brand it is. I am currently using the E.L.F. Fuchsia Fusion blush. It is under $10, and in a shade I really love.

-Eye shadow

My eye shadow pallet right now has a lot of brown's, grey's, and some grey-green's in it. I have a MAC pallet ($53) with nine shades of brown/tan/gold, a TOO FACED ($36) pallet with six grey's, and a tarte ($28) pallet with a couple of green's.

-Eye liner

I use the E.L.F. carbon black liquid eyeliner. It is $4 at most drug stores, and I absolutely love it.

-Layer 1 of mascara

My first layer of mascara is Maybelline Collosal Volume ($8.99) in carbon black.

-Layer 2 of mascara

My second layer of mascara is Rimmel London Super Curved ($13.99) in carbon black.

-Layer 3 of mascara

My final layer of mascara is Dior Diorshow Iconic Overcurl Mascara ($28.50) in carbon black.

-Lip Liner

I don't wear lip liner all that often. Usually, it is just for church, dates, or special occasions. I tend to have to choose between two different color lip liners if I am going to wear it at all. My first choice is usually NYX Earthtone matte ($8) because it goes with most of my favorite lipsticks. My second choice is a slightly more fun and less mature color, Butter London Lippy Bloody Brilliant Lip Crayon in Primrose Hill ($20).

-Lip stick/of gloss

I like lip gloss more than I do lipstick. It seems less formal, and a bit more fun. My two favorites right now are NYX Butter Gloss in Strawberry Parfait ($5), and Covergirl Queen Colorlicious Lip Gloss in Starlet Sand ($6).

On average, I change out (or more likely run out) of my makeup every five to six months. I change out all of my makeup at that point so it is fresh and new. On average, it costs me about $300. In a given year, I will spend anywhere from $300 to $500 dollars on makeup.

I understand that I wear a lot of makeup, and that I spend a lot on it. However, it makes me feel good about myself. When I put all that makeup on, I can change how I look in the mirror into someone I like, and think is pretty. I know that sounds vain, but with so much else in day to day life trying to drag me down, why not do something to feel good about myself? No I won't stop wearing makeup when I go out in public, and no I don't think I look good without it. Just because I wear a lot of makeup though, doesn't mean I am necessarily stuck up or think my appearance is all that important. We live in a very judgemental world, and I have seen (and have done it myself) where people look at you, and judge you for your appearance.

Before I started wearing makeup, people didn't really pay attention to me, and I didn't like myself. Now that I wear makeup, I feel like people notice me, and are willing to get to know who I am rather than just make assumptions based off of what I look like.

-Lauren Hansen

*Photo from Pinterest


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page